#10 – Critical Acclaim

rkmrr5

Artist – Avenged Sevenfold
Album – Avenged Sevenfold
Year – 2007
Genre – Nu-metal/Hard Rock

When I was a teenager, I did one thing that most other teenagers out there do at some point. I became a rebellious rapscallion and started listening to hard rock and metal to show how much I didn’t care about anything and how tough I was. Which was totally untrue since I was and am still the most soft spoken, most non-agressive guy on planet earth. But I digress. It didn’t matter what genre of metal it was, as long as it was loud and angry. Now I consider myself a man of many tastes, but metal music has always stuck with me for many reasons. It has a lot of great musical qualities, and some of the nicest people ever listen to metal and hard rock. This is true. Avenged Sevenfold has always been one of my favorites, because I feel they seamlessly blend fantastic melody in with their nu-metal sound, and still maintain that tough edge that makes nu-metal, nu-metal. Anyway, let’s get to the review.

An organ opening is the last thing you would expect from a song like this, but it happens right at the start, and I must say that it is a very welcome addition! It sets a great tone for the song, and actually the rest of the album. Dark, macabre, and sinister is the tone that you’ll get. The musicianship in this song is absolutely flooring. With constant crazy riffs from guitarists Synyster Gates and Zacky Vengeance, and CRAZY drums from The Rev (RIP dude), this song has everything a nu-metal fan could want. But this song is also for those who just enjoy good old rock and roll. Singer M. Shadows has a voice that has the ability to spit out gorgeous melodies whilst also hissing like a snake. It’s really quite extraordinary what range he has. After the intro, he begins his insidiously harsh whispering and then begins to really belt it out. All the while the riffs are just rocking in the background. After the verses, there are these great little political rant breakdowns that really fit the song well. More great riffs and drum fills and verses to follow, but then we get to the bridge.

The bridge is the best part of the song. The chords are super catchy and pleasing to the ear, and Shadows’ singing is a delight here. (Can I just say here that I just used the word “delight” in a metal review?) The background harmonies are so good. So good. At the end of it, Shadows just lets it go with “I’m not the last but I sure ain’t the FIRST!” Then comes the solo, which is, in typical Avenged Sevenfold fashion, very good. I cannot stress how talented the musicians are in this band really are. The music is the standout, but the lyrics here are very sharp, too. It’s an obvious political slam, but it’s done with conviction and wit. Then, the chorus repeats with the riffs following to the end, closing out a great nu-metal song that is catchy, aggressive, very sharp music-wise, and easily enjoyable for any who enjoy a great rock song.

I’ve seen this band twice, and they’ve really impressed me with their live performance as well. You should check it out, too. Here’s a link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LKWMFtU7JjA

So, let me know what you guys thought. Did you enjoy the song? Why or why not? How was my review? Leave your comments below! I’d really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

