#96 – Here (In Your Arms)

1159200192

Artist – Hellogoodbye
Album – Zombies! Aliens! Vampires! Dinosaurs!
Year – 2006
Genre – Synthpop/Pop-Rock

I had the pleasure of seeing this band play at my college just yesterday, and they put on a great performance! The whole band was really funny and they made the most of our small stage and really ramped up the crowd every chance they had. Here (In Your Arms) was the final song of the set, and this by far was the most energetic and popular song they played. Why was it so popular? Let’s find out.

The verses in this song are simply written, but for a person in love these verses are poignant and hit the mark perfectly.

“I like where we are,
When we drive, in your car
I like where we are…. here”

“Cause our lips, can touch
And our cheeks, can brush
Our lips can touch… here”

“I like where you sleep,
When you sleep, next to me.
I like where you sleep… here”

These simply statements of love and affection are tender and come from a place of adoration that we all have or long for in our lives. The moment when we can say these things to a partner is a moment we’ll treasure. Singer Forrest Kline’s gentle voice during this section really bolsters that notion up as he sings sensitively and almost shyly. The soft guitar and thud of a drum are all that backs him, and it paints a perfect picture of sweetness.

However, all that goes away in the chorus. The chorus in this song is loud, explosive, and the damn catchiest thing on the planet. As all the instruments turn it up to eleven, Kline switches to an autotune voice, which sounds like a cheap cop out at first, but let me be the first to tell you that this guy can sing with the best of them in person. The autotune actually makes the song better in my opinion. It not only creates the poppiness that makes the song dancable and fun, but what stands out more than the notes from the autotune is the emotion in his voice. Every note falls perfectly in line and sounds great from a melodic standpoint, but it’s the feeling and heartfelt desire to express his love that I really can feel beyond the artificiality.

Call me a sucker for an idealized love song, but I love this chorus:

“Well you are the one, the one that lies close to me
Whispers ‘Hello, I’ve missed you quite terribly’
I fell in love, in love with you suddenly
Now there’s no place else I could be but here in your arms”

Again, the lyrics really reflect that warm and fuzzy reciprocity of affection and love that we all desire in our lives, which is why we remember songs like this and why they stick with us. Over all this, the beat is thumping and the instruments shine and glitter, creating a perfect song for singing loudly and dancing foolishly. Great texturing from synths of every kind and and rolling drumbeat keep the pace up, with just enough guitar to make you rock out. It’s exactly what it is: pop rock. And when I hear a good pop rock song, let me tell you…there’s no stopping me from dancing around like a madman.

Hellogoodbye put on a great show, but more importantly they created this wonderful song. It’s a song that we can all relate to in our own way while still having fun, and those are the two single most important aspects of any musical legacy. So in that regard, bang up job boys. Bang up job. Also, be warned that if you see me dancing like a fool in your general direction, I’m probably listening to this…

Thanks for reading, and if you like this review, be sure to throw me a like, a comment, or better yet a follow or share!

Leave a Reply

