Manifesto 2.0

I feel like I’ve done this a dozen times at least, but I cannot thank you all enough for your support and viewership on my blog. My goal of exploring why I love the songs I love has become exploring why you love these songs too, and that’s been truly humbling to witness. We have a long way to go to get to the end, but I hope you all stick with me as we keep moving forward, and I hope I find a lot of new followers along the way who enjoy music just as much as I do.

So where do we go from here? Well, as I’m sure many of you have noticed, I have a hard time keeping up with new tracks, so that kind of fell by the wayside quickly. Don’t get me wrong, there have been a few tracks that are new that I’ve heard that I’ve put on the blog, so you may still see them pop up, but the songs that are chosen are just based on how and what I’m feeling in the particular moment. I think music is often used to reflect our moods and amplify our emotions during certain points in time, and that’s exactly how this blog has worked. You can literally trace my moods and emotions just by the type of music that goes up every week.

One thing I would very much like to continue as we move ahead are sporadic Q and A posts. I love answering questions about myself, and these can be about ANYTHING. Ask me what movies I enjoy, or foods, or favorite color. Really, I want you guys to know anything you want about me. I’m also thinking about posting a Q and A for you guys, so I can get to know all of you out there, and it will work much in the same fashion, only it will be more music related.

The last big note I have is that from this point on, YOU MAY FIND BANDS THAT REPEAT. It probably won’t be every other song, but I truly believe that emotion trumps diversity every time, so if I’m truly feeling a song by a band I’ve already covered, I probably won’t hesitate to post it. Hopefully I won’t lose all of you with this note, but I feel strongly about it, so I’m going to do it. But again, it will not be every other song. There will still be a great deal of new bands and content that will be posted, so please stick around.

I think that’s about it, everyone. I know you’ve seen my ups and downs on this blog, but I want it to reflect my reality as closely as possible. I want you to know how the music I listen to is based on the events and feelings in my life, and how closely the two are tied together. By explaining the qualities that I find in the music that makes it stay in my life and amplifies my emotion, I hope that you all can find your own qualities within the songs that may help you during dark, joyful, confusing, or uplifting parts of your own lives. I wish you all a beautiful summer as we march forward together.

Don’t think twice, it’s alright

Kris Kielich (merrymuzak)

Leave a Reply

