#131 – We Sleep Forever

VR334

Artist – Aiden
Album – Rain In Hell – EP
Year – 2006
Genre – Emo/Post-Hardcore

The voice is a powerful emotional force. Conviction in singing is a skill that all vocalists should possess in some way shape or form. If they believe it, you believe it and feel right along with them. Aiden, a post-hardcore group known for their “horror punk” style, didn’t really appear on my radar until I heard “We Sleep Forever,” with frontman Will Francis’ voice and well crafted chorus melody catching me off guard and making me an instant fan of this song.

The band kicks this song in with a huge bang. It’s one of those openings that crowds go nuts for. The band is a talented bunch, with some powerful rhythm guitars and quick drumming forming the backbone, and some quick riffage from the lead guitar and even some piano thrown in for atmosphere.

Francis sits front and center in the song with his voice falling right in line with many of the modern emo groups that currently rock the scene. The verses keep you in place with some interesting vocal melody explorations, but it’s the chorus that knocked me on my ass.

The melody is great, Francis is singing with all his belief, and a song whose verse lyrics are mediocre and elude me becomes infinitely stronger in the chorus. You’ll be held at full emotional investment as Francis pours his heart out in his singing and conviction. Every time he sings “Hey, call the angels” I get chills. It’s a chorus that just sticks with you on more levels than one.

The bridge is nice interlude, with the guitar taking a bit of the spotlight off of Francis. The drums also get a chance to shine here as well, and every piece comes together in a great breakdown rhythm that will have you headbanging along.

The last choruses are exactly what you want to hear to cap off the song. Nothing like ending with the best parts of a song. It’s just as strong as before, and you’re going to want to have another go at this one by the time it ends. As for the lyrics, as I mentioned before, the verse lyrics fall into place with Aiden’s M.O.; dark, twisted words of passion and dark violence and despair. It works for them, but the chorus is just much more universally appealing with a kickass melody and words that just seem to grab me more.

If you’re looking for a new punk jam, I highly recommend “We Sleep Forever.” It really appeals to the darkness in you and hooks you with Francis’ emotional voice and the band’s instrumental power. It stands with the best of what modern post-hardcore has to offer.

Thanks for checking out my blog! If you like what you read and heard, please give it a like or leave a comment! I’d love to hear your opinions on the music. Also, be sure to follow me for more songs like this one, and share the blog with a friend to get them listening as well!

One thought on “#131 – We Sleep Forever

  1. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to
    assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

Leave a Reply

