#167 – Truly Madly Deeply

savage_garden_wall

Artist – Savage Garden
Album – Savage Garden
Year – 1997
Genre – Pop

Is this the most romantic song ever written? Maybe. It definitely makes my top 5 for sure. Now there’s a difference between what’s my favorite love song, and my favorite romantic song. This falls into the latter category for sure, but categories aside, it’s a breathtakingly beautiful song. What can I say, I’m a hopeless romantic. I don’t think it’s cheesy at all, and I think the song captures love in such a poetic and intimate way.

The smooth beat and piano set the tone immediately, but let’s get down to brass tacks. The real draw of the song are the lyrics and singer Darren Hayes’ gentle and softly wavering voice. He sings incredibly well and every note he hits is just perfect, but it’s the little wavers and vibratto in his voice that just seals the deal. It shows true honesty and vulnerability, which is something that it seems not too many men can show these days. It’s almost as if he is on the verge of crying himself.

You truly get the impression that Hayes has suffered a great deal of heartbreak and loneliness in his life, and now has finally found someone who finally accepts him for who he is and loves him for every part of him. He knows he’s found his soulmate, and he wants to give this person everything and anything in return. He’d give his life, and is willing to sacrifice it all for them. Being wanted and needed is an amazing thing, and he captures that feeling perfectly in lyrics like this:

I’ll love you more with every breath
Truly, madly, deeply do
I will be strong I will be faithful
’cause I’m counting on
A new beginning
A reason for living
A deeper meaning, yeah

and this

I’ll make a wish send it to heaven
Then make you want to cry
The tears of joy for all the
pleasure and the certainty
That we’re surrounded by the
comfort and protection of
The highest powers
In lonely hours
The tears devour you

But it’s this chorus that truly paints a magnificent picture of love using nature as a symbol of the power of love. On top of that, there’s no feeling quite like being in a beautiful place with the one you love. It’s twofold beauty, and the effect it has on the heart must be a potent thing indeed:

I want to stand with you on
a mountain
I want to bathe with you in the sea
I want to lay like this forever
Until the sky falls down on me

Again, it’s the little things in Hayes’ voice, that vulnerability, that gives the song that emotional resonance and power. If someone cries for you, they truly love you. As Paul Simon so beautifully said, “If I never loved, I never would have cried.”

All the while, this gentle and affectionate song is being accented with these great big, sweeping synths and lovely guitar accents that just could not be any more well placed. It’s just so light and airy, and this is a perfect example of a group that knows how to craft a song for a specific mood and make it just so. The acoustic guitar solo in this song will surely make your heart melt. It’s a lovely Spanish guitar sound, straight from Andalusia, and just caps off the romantic atmosphere. All you need are some candles and a hot bubble bath.

A song like this is powerful, and if you’re a romantic like me, you’ll probably fall in love with it (see what I did there?) It’s affectionate and tender in all the right places, and really captures such a crystallized feeling of pure love. All I can say is that Savage Garden knows how to write a damn good romantic song.

Thanks for reading and listening! Let me know your thoughts in the comments, and stay tuned for the next great musical adventure!

Leave a Reply

